Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute School of Engineering

Department of Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering



Commencement

May 19, 2022

Professor John Wen, Head, Department Head will announce the awards for the ECSE Class of 2022

0000

JOIN WEBEX MEETING

https://rensselaer.webex.com/rensselaer/j.php?MTI D=md2f6b0c10d35543ea6766bb17faa0cb6

Meeting number (access code): 2621 745 5527 Meeting password: M4UjbQM6wK2

May 19, 2022 @ 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm

Hilton Garden Inn, Troy

Ferris B Ballroom, 1st floor

- Welcome by ECSE Department Head, John Wen
- Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering
- Bachelor of Science in Computer & Systems Engineering
- Remarks by Class 2022 Advisors
- ECSE Master's Program Graduates
- ECSE Doctoral Program Graduates
- Remarks by ECSE Graduate Program Director
- ECSE Awards

The Allen B. Dumont Prize

This prize is awarded to a graduate student who has demonstrated high scholastic ability and has made a substantial contribution to that field.

Awarded to: Sarthak Chatterjee & Muhammad Waleed Mansha

The Charles M. Close Prize

This prize is established to honor long time ECSE faculty Prof. Charles M. Close. The prize is awarded to a doctoral candidate who has done outstanding work as a researcher and a teacher and who shows promise of a distinguished academic or research career.

Awarded to: Amelia Peterson

Charles D. Dyce Prize (1975)

The prize was established by friends in memory of Charles D. Dyce, Class of 1972. It is to be awarded to a student in the School of Engineering who, at the conclusion of the sophomore year, has demonstrated high scholastic ability and involvement in extracurricular activities and indicates potential for constructive leadership.

Awarded to: Joshua S. Pratt

Lt. Charles D. Dyce Award (Army)

Lt. Charles D. Dyce Award (1976) ...Established in memory of Army Lt. Charles D. Dyce, Class of 1972, this award is presented to a Freshman or Sophomore Cadet in each of the Reserve Officers' Training Corps Programs who has demonstrated high leadership potential and outstanding military bearing and whose superior performance has served to support cadet corps activities. Selection is made in a manner prescribed by the chairman of the Department of the Military Science.

Awarded to: Gregory O. Kotlyarsky

The MacFarlane Prize (1924)

To the student who has presented the best computer graphics project during the work of the first year.

Awarded to: Madeleine R. Avni

The Henry J. Nolte Memorial Prize

This prize is awarded to ECSE students who have done an outstanding engineering research or design project.

Awarded to: James Lewin & Brennan Loder

The Ricketts Prizes (1928)

The prizes, five in number, consist in each case of the net annual income of \$2,000. Three of the prizes were established by Palmer C. Ricketts, Class of 1875, who served Rensselaer for 50 years as instructor, professor, director, and president. They are awarded at Commencement to a senior in mechanical engineering, to a senior in electric power or electrical and systems engineering, and to a senior in chemical engineering.

Awarded to: Rahul Jain & Zachary Orris

The Wynant James Williams Prize in Electrical Engineering (1954)

This prize is awarded to a senior in Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering for outstanding scholarship, personality, and promise.

Awarded to: Sandor Magyar & Charles Pike

The Harold N. Trevett Award

This prize is awarded to a senior in Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering for outstanding scholarship during the junior and senior years.

Awarded to: Maxwell de Feijter & Allan Nesathurai

The Jerry Dziuba Graduate Service Award

The ECSE Graduate Service Award was established in honor of long time ECSE technical staff Jerry Dziuba. This Award is given annually to graduate students from the ECSE department in recognition of their altruistic service, dedication and commitment to improving the ECSE graduate student experience at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Awarded to:

Lauren Brady

 \mathcal{B}

Burak Varici

4.0 Certificate

The following graduate achieved 4.0 *grade point averages.*

Awarded to:

Zachary L. Orris

િ

Connor J. Wooding

Constellation Energy Scholarship

The Constellation Energy Scholarship is awarded annually to undergraduate students in Electrical Engineering and Nuclear Engineering with outstanding scholarship and interest in the energy and power generation fields.

ECSE

Michael Awad Allan Nesathurai Davis Piercy MANE Tierney Dugan Ashley Harris

Dr. Alireza Seyedi '99, '04 Teaching Assistant Award

This award has been established in memory of Dr. Alireza Seyedi to celebrate his significant research contributions and dedication to teaching excellence as a young engineering educator. Dr. Seyedi was a student in ECSE from 1998 through 2004, receiving his Master's degree in 1999 and PhD in 2004. While a graduate student, he distinguished himself not only as an outstanding researcher but also as excellent teacher. He was a recipient of a department TA award, a "master TA" who worked to help other students become better TAs, and a course instructor. After several years at Philips Research, Dr. Seyedi returned to academia at the University of Rochester and, later, the University of Central Florida where he continued to excel as both a researcher and teacher.

The \$2000 award will be presented annually to a graduate student in the Department of Electrical, Computer, & Systems Engineering (ECSE) who demonstrates outstanding dedication and performance in their duties as a Teaching Assistant while also making excellent progress in their research.

Awarded to: Anindita Ghosh

This page intentionally left blank.

Best Wishes and



to all our Graduates! Class of 2022



Department of Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering at Rensselaer