Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute School of Engineering

Department of Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering



Commencement May 21, 2020

Professor John Wen, Head, Department Head will announce the awards for the ECSE Class of 2020



Event held remotely via Webex:

https://rensselaer.webex.com/meet/wenj

May 21, 2020 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

- Welcome by ECSE Department Head, John Wen
- Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering
- Bachelor of Science in Computer and Systems Engineering
- Remarks by Class 2020 Advisors Professors, Franklin, Lu & Sun
- ECSE Master's Program Graduates
- ECSE Doctoral Program Graduates
- Remarks by ECSE Master's and Doctoral Program Directors
- ECSE Commencement Address Dr. Steven Sasson, '72, Inventor of Digital Camera
- ECSE Awards
- ECSE Photo Vignettes
- ECSE Connection

4.0 Certificate

The following graduate achieved 4.0 grade point averages.

Awarded to: Koepfer Linus

ક Suri Siddharth

PRIZES AND RECIPIENTS

Lt. Charles D. Dyce Award

Lt. Charles D. Dyce Award (1976) ... Established in memory of Army Lt. Charles D. Dyce, Class of 1972, this award is presented to a Freshman or Sophomore Cadet in each of the Reserve Officers' Training Corps Programs who has demonstrated high leadership potential and outstanding military bearing and whose superior performance has served to support cadet corps activities. Selection is made in a manner prescribed by the respective military science departments.

Awarded to: Zaki A. Quereshy

The Allen B. Dumont Prize

This prize is awarded to a graduate student who has demonstrated high scholastic ability and has made a substantial contribution to that field.

Awarded to: Meng Zheng

The Charles M. Close Prize

This prize is awarded to a doctoral candidate who has done outstanding work as a researcher and a teacher and who shows promise of a distinguished academic or research career.

Awarded to: Maha Mahmoud Fadel Zohdy

The Henry J. Nolte Memorial Prize

This prize is awarded for an outstanding engineering research or design project.

Awarded to: Steven Beninati

The Ricketts Prizes

The prizes, five in number, consist in each case of the net annual income of \$2,000. Three of the prizes were established by Palmer C. Ricketts, Class of 1875, who served Rensselaer for 50 years as instructor, professor, director, and president. They are awarded at Commencement to a senior in mechanical engineering, to a senior in electric power or electrical and systems engineering, and to a senior in chemical engineering.

Awarded to: Patrick James Love
&
Siddharth Suri

The Wynant James Williams Prize in Electrical Engineering

This prize is awarded to a senior for outstanding scholarship, personality and promise.

Awarded to: Emily Lynn Veenhuis &

Justin Frank Melkun

The Harold N. Trevett Award

This prize is awarded to a senior for outstanding scholarship in electric power or electrical and systems engineering subjects during the junior and senior years.

Awarded to: Difei Cao & Linus Koepfer

Dr. Alireza Seyedi '99, '04 Teaching Assistant Award

This teaching assistant award has been established in memory of Alireza Seyedi to celebrate his significant research contributions and dedication to teaching excellence as a young engineering educator. Dr. Seyedi was a student in ECSE from 1998 through 2004, receiving his Master's degree in 1999 and PhD in 2004. While a graduate student, he distinguished himself not only as an outstanding researcher but also as excellent teacher. He was a recipient of a department TA award, a "master TA" who worked to help other students become better TAs, and a course instructor. After several years at Philips Research, Dr. Seyedi returned to academia at the University of Rochester and, later, the University of Central Florida where he continued to excel as both a researcher and teacher.

The \$2000 award will be presented annually to a graduate student in the Department of Electrical, Computer, & Systems Engineering (ECSE) who demonstrates outstanding dedication and performance in their duties as a Teaching Assistant while also making excellent progress in their research.

Awarded to: Yu Wang

હ

Christopher Wiederman

Best Wishes and



to all our Graduates!
Class of 2020

