ECSE – PHYSICS JOINT SEMINAR: Wide-Bandgap Semiconductors for Quantum Photonics Integration

Boon S. Ooi
Professor, Photonics Laboratory
ECSE Seminar Series
JEC 3117
Mon, June 10, 2024 at 4:00 PM…

The global race in quantum science and technology is intensifying due to its potential to revolutionize communication, computing, and sensing systems. Over the past two decades, significant efforts and advances have been made in developing viable integration platform technologies for quantum integrated circuits (QICs). However, achieving high scalability, low cost, and high energy efficiency in these technologies remains a challenge. Semiconductor photonics, with their wafer-level manufacturing based on nanofabrication technologies, offer promising solutions for next-generation scalable quantum technologies by reducing size, cost and energy. At KAUST, we aim to establish a platform capability for UV-Visible-NIR photonic integrated circuits (PICs) using wide-bandgap semiconductors to support a wide range of quantum applications, enhancing the robustness and versatility of QICs.  In this talk, I will provide an overview of semiconductor quantum integration technologies. I will focus my discussion on selected building blocks for QICs, including heterogeneous integration of wide-bandgap materials such as Ga2O3 and III-N for UV-Vis-NIR PICs, single frequency InGaN/GaN lasers at trapped ion and neutral atom wavelengths, and low-coherence diode laser for high-speed quantum random number generation. 

Boon Ooi Headshot

Boon S. Ooi (FIEEE, FNAI, FOSA, FSPIE and FInstP) is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at KAUST. His research interests include semiconductor photonic integration and optical wireless communications. To date, he has successfully trained 39 PhD students and 17 postdocs. He is an inventor of 41 issued US Patents and the recipient of the following selected awards: the Optica/OSA Sang Soo Lee Award, the Khalifa International Award, as well as several paper awards. He has served as Associate Editor of the Optics Express, Senior Editor of the IEEE Photonics Journal, and Chair or TPC members of OFC, CLEO, IPC, ISLC, and IEDM. He is currently serving or has served on the IEEE Fellow Committee, the SPIE Fellow Selection Committee, the IEEE Women in Photonics Award Committee, etc. He is Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Photonics Technology Letters.