2023 Grainger Power Engineering Awards & Ceremony

Posted April 21, 2023
group of award winners
Eric T. Carson, Daniel P. Lennon, Francisco D. Sandoval and Eric Segerstrom were the 2023 recipients of the prestigious Grainger Scholars Award.

cover of the program brochureOn April 12, 2023, at the annual Grainger Scholars ceremony, four ESCE students received the prestigious Grainger Scholars Award, which is given every spring. Prof. Emeritus Sheppard Salon gave a talk to start the awards, after which the award winners shared their journey to studying Electric Power. Funding for the awards is provided by the Grainger Foundation, a private organization based in Lake Forest, IL which supports U.S. technical education and workforce development. The foundation has been awarding this scholarship to RPI students in the electric power field for the last fourteen years. ECSE awardees must demonstrate superior academic performance and future promise for work or research in the field of energy sources and systems, especially electric power.

For more information on this year's winners, please see the 2023 ceremony program.

To watch the awards ceremony and see photos from the event, please click here.