ECSE Faculty Members Honored With Institute Awards and Service Recognition

Posted June 18, 2020
John Wen and Yannick LeCoz
Congratulations to honorees Prof. John Wen and Prof. Yannick LeCoz!

The research, mentorship, and teaching innovation of several faculty members in the School of Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute were recently recognized with the 2020 Institute Awards. The annual honors also included recognition for exceptional service and dedication.

John Wen, the Russell Sage Professor and head of the Department of Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering, received the William H. Wiley Distinguished Faculty Award. Established by Edward P. Hamilton ’07 in memory of William H. Wiley, from the Class of 1886, the award honors those who have won the respect of the faculty through excellence in teaching, productive research, and interest in the totality of the educational process.

Additionally, Yannick LeCoz, an associate professor of electrical, computer, and system engineering, is all also being honored as he prepares to retire this year.

During his career, LeCoz was a visiting faculty member at LSI Logic Corporation and at Sandia National Laboratories, in addition to being named a Digital Equipment Corporation Fellow. His research has focused on transport in semiconductor devices, equilibrium heterojunction theory, and random-walk algorithms for the physical design of integrated circuits.

For a full list of SoE Faculty honored, click here.